State of New Hampshire MANUAL

for the

General Court

2005

No. 59

PUBLISHED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE

William M. Gardner Secretary of State

Robert P. Ambrose Senior Deputy Secretary of State

> David M. Scanlan Deputy Secretary of State

> > Compiled by Karen H. Ladd

LIQUOR QUESTIONS

The following questions were submitted to the voters in the Town of Errol under the provisions of RSA 663:5 at the November 2, 2004 general election.

(a) Shall state stores be operated by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 130 NO 57

(b) Shall malt beverages (beer) be sold by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 165 NO 22

(c) Shall wines containing not less than 6 percent nor more than 15.5 percent of alcoholic content by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit (table wine) be sold by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 162 NO 25

(d) Shall liquor be sold for consumption on the premises where sold by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 147 NO 39

CHANGE IN POLLING HOUR QUESTION

The following question was submitted to the voters in the Town of Stratford under the provisions of RSA 659:4-a at the November 2, 2004 general election.

"Polling hours in the town of Stratford are now 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Shall we change polling hours so that the polls shall open at 10:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. for all regular state elections beginning in 2006?"

YES 141 NO 120

RECOUNTS AFTER THE GENERAL ELECTION

Fourteen requests for recounts were received after the general election. One recount resulted in a change of winners - State Representative District 2 from Hillsborough County.

The recounts requested for State Senate District 8 and State Representative District 3 from Strafford County were called off before they were completed. There were no changes in any of the other recounts.

The recount of State Representative from Hillsborough County District 3 was appealed to the Ballot Law Commission. The Ballot Law Commission upheld the Secretary of State's ruling on all challenges.

Below, in the first column are the figures as officially returned to the Secretary of State. The second column contains the recount figures, and the third column contains the figures after appeals to the Ballot Law Commission. Asterisks designate the person elected.

State Senate District 12 David Gottesman, d Harry Haytayan, r	13,316* 13,128	13,335* 13,164
State Senate District 18 Andre A. Martel, r Dave Gelinas, d	11,079* 10,914	11,095* 10,929

STATE REPRESENTATIVES

CARROLL COUNTY DISTRICT 1		
Carolyn Brown, r	4,588*	4,479*
Gene G. Chandler, r	4,123*	4,130*
Howard C. Dickinson, r	3,785*	3,769*
Tom Buco, d	3,403*	3,403*
Frank H. McCarthy, r	3,386	3,368
Carol A. LaPierre, d	2,771	2,767
Brian Charles, d	2,412 2,399	
Jim Salmon, d	2,401	2,396
CHESHIRE COUNTY DISTRICT 2		
John M. Pratt, d	2,714*	2,700*
Daniel Adams Eaton, d	2,609*	2,609*
Sheldon S. Sawyer, r	2,266*	2,293*
Alfrieda J. Englund, d	2,239	2,255
Susan R. Abert, r	2,092	2,077
Joseph Norman Feuer, r	1,777	1,769
CHESHIRE COUNTY DISTRICT 4		
Stanley S. Plifka, Jr., d	2,999*	2,974*
Henry A. L. Parkhurst, d	2,875*	2.832*
William Butynski, d	2,801*	2,822*
Deb Hogancamp, r	2,642*	2,608*
Daniel P. Carr, d	2,579	2,555
Edwin O. Smith, r	2,298	2,267
Don Holmquist, r	1,814	1,789
Sharron H. Smith, r	1,713	1,658

CHESHIRE COUNTY DISTRICT 6			
Peter H. Allen, d	3,210*	3,211*	
Anna Z. Tilton, d	2,978*	2,986*	
Sheila A. Foote, r	2,893*	2,880*	
Judson K. Dexter, r	2,652*	2,639*	
Richard H. Thackston III	2,626	2,632	
Sharon Manos, d	2,607	2,616	
Gilbert Gitchell, d	2,421	2,428	
Nicole Schultz, r	2,077	2,010	
Neole Schulz, I	2,077	2,010	
HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY DISTRICT 2	1		
Jarvis M. Adams IV, r	1,777*	1,772*	
Claudia C. Chase, d	1,524	1,523*	
Dario A. Carrara, r	1,555*	1,519	
Nell Conkright, d	1,427	1,412	
e., .			
HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY DISTRICT 3			
Anne-Marie Irwin, d	3,879*	3,858*	3,858*
Mark Carter, r	3,516*	3,507*	3,507*
Donald Carlson, r	3,058*	3,056*	3,056*
Larry Ross, r	3,026*	3,003*	3,003*
John Friede, d	2,971	2,963	2.963
Jill Shaffer Hammond, d	2,943	2,934	2,934
Terry A. Colls, r	2,684	2,680	2,680
Stephen P. Spratt, d	2,469	2,469	2,469
HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY DISTRICT 2	0		
Ruth Ginsburg, d	2,437*	2,415*	
Anthony P. Matarazzo, d	2,366*	2,373*	
Eugene Kelly, Jr., r	2,244*	2,250*	
Henry W. McElroy, Jr., r	2,197	2,204	
Fred S. Teeboom, r	2,136	2,134	
Jacek Nowicki, d	1,781	1,766	
MERRIMACK COUNTY DISTRICT 5			
Barbara Conner French, d	1,879*	1,864*	
David P. Currier, r	1,554*	1,555*	
Aaron M. Lavallee, d	1,530	1,516	
James P. Walsh, r	1,121	1,096	
SULLIVAN COUNTY DISTRICT 2			
Arthur G. Jillette, Jr., d&r	3,162*	3,077*	
Beverly T. Rodeschin, r	2,518*	2,518*	
Peter E. Franklin, d	2,282*	2,268*	
Henry Rodeschin, r	2,239	2,246	
John Lunn, d	1,965	1,947	
CHILL MAN COUNTY DISTDICT			
SULLIVAN COUNTY DISTRICT 4	C 11/4	1.0304	
Tom Donovan, d&r	5,116*	4,979*	
John R. Cloutier, d&r	4,750*	4,612*	
Joe Harris, d&r	4,569*	4,533*	
Larry Converse, d&r	4,299*	4,215*	
Christopher R. Irish, r	3,607*	3,608*	
Sandra C. Harris, d	3,525	3,502	